Proud to Support NZ’s Young Pilots

Aspeq is pleased to have attended the recent awards ceremony for the 52nd Annual Walsh Memorial Scout Flying School. We are proud to continue our long-term sponsorship of the two-week programme, and at the awards night held on the 23rd January 2018 we provided three candidates, Thomas Shaw, Benjamin Mitchell, and Alice McIlroy-Foster, with scholarships to enable their flying training to continue past the event.  We also awarded an A-Category Instructor scholarship to one standout B-Category Instructor, Andrew Sims, reflecting Aspeq’s recognition of the contribution that high-quality instructors make to great training outcomes. Andrew is currently a Chief Flying Instructor at Wellington Aero Club.

Since 1967, the Walsh Memorial Scout Flying School has provided the highest quality aviation training in the country for budding young pilots aged between 16-19, and the 2018 school conducted in Matamata was no different.  The two-week course, where instructors donate their time and aircraft are borrowed, is attended by around 75 students from across New Zealand. It is a truly unique event, and a high proportion of attendees go on to have a long association with the NZ aviation industry based on their time at “The Walsh”.


(Left to right) Aspeq CEO, Bruce Heesterman, with scholarship winners Thomas Shaw, Benjamin Mitchell, and Alice McIlroy-Foster.

Aspeq CEO, Bruce Heesterman, with the A-Category Instructor scholarship winner, Andrew Sims.


Back to news